PvP · Roleplay

7th Legion, 73rd Company, 1st Platoon

So I joined an RP guild on Emerald Dream (US), which is an RP-PvP server.  <The Seventy Third> is a military guild, and as evidenced by the title of this post, we are the 73rd Company of the 7th Alliance Legion.  It’s been less than a week but I am having a lot of fun with them. :)

So, this is Mac:

macdara
Don’t mind the hair clipping through her helmet, it’s… a Wildhammer thing?

Full name Innes Macdara, called Mac by friends and Ango by family.  It’s not random, I swear – Ango is a family in-joke.  Her parents assumed before she was born that she’d be a boy like her six older brothers, and they were all set to name her Angus.  Thus, Ango.  (Innes is actually a feminine version of Angus, but y’all don’t want to hear about all the tetchy reasons I picked her name.)  Her dad was from Ironforge originally, but moved up to Wildhammer country for one reason or another, fell in love with a Wildhammer girl, married her, and had… well, Mac and her brothers.  She didn’t really connect to her dad’s side of the family until she was an adult, and definitely considers herself more a Wildhammer than a Bronzebeard.

She’s an arms warrior, running around Azeroth (and beyond, technically) with granddad’s trusty warhammer, her hair in braids, and the gryphon she helped raise from a wee chick.  She’s friendly and loves to laugh, and I am absolutely STRUGGLING to level her through Outland right now.  It sucks ass.

Anyway, like I said, I joined this guild about a week ago kind of on a whim – I’ve been missing RP, and it’s so hard to really build long-term walk-up RP, and my one RP partner doesn’t currently have game time, so I was poking around the forums for RP guild ads.  I decided I wanted to check out whatever RP-PvP server was the most lively (if any) because I remembered there was a somewhat different atmosphere on the RP-PvP servers back in the day.

Now, back in 2010, Twisting Nether and The Venture Co. were the servers to go for if you were going for an RP-PvP server.  I honestly never heard anyone even MENTION Emerald Dream, but apparently that’s where the RP is at these days, so I went to check their forum for guild recruitment posts.  And right up near the top was a recruitment thread from a couple or three years ago that seemed to still be up-to-date and active.  The post itself was pretty average – not bad by any stretch, but it seemed very much your standard Military-themed RP guild recruitment post.  And then at the bottom, added almost like an afterthought, was a youtube link labelled “recruitment video”.

Holy.  Fuckin.  Shit, y’all.

See, I’ve only seen a handful of recruitment vids for guilds, but all of them inevitably are taking themselves rather seriously.  And I get it, you’re trying to be dramatic, but it mostly ends up being unintentionally funny.  Sorry, guys, it’s really hard to make a serious recruitment vid that WORKS, apparently.  But this?  This was “these folks take their guild seriously, but not TOO seriously.”  It made me laugh, and I immediately rolled up a character on ED.

Thus far?  I haven’t regretted it.  Everyone has been friendly and helpful.  One of the officers gave me a couple of 30-slot bags my first night, after I’d logged in at like 3am and somehow managed to get my OOC interview done bc another officer was up and active.  The GM did my IC interview and was friendly and funny and gave me some gold afterwards since I didn’t have any other characters on the server.  (that has changed – my altoholic ways haunt me still…)  I was invited the evening after I joined to do a little RP scene – one they had to specifically build around the fact they had to pick a place that would be safe for a bitty level 30 to be.  A few of the officers had apparently set up a server-wide event that i just missed the conclusion of by a couple of weeks, and last night they were doing a photo shoot of the guilds that had been involved, and when I mentioned they probably didn’t want me there because I hadn’t been there for the plot, they said I should come, to help represent the seventy third.

And, probably some of the most fun so far, on thursday night, we had military training.

WoWScrnShot_041317_235155
FORM UP!

It was mostly OOC – Bran (our GM) and a couple other folks are actual military veterans, and they wanted to give us a rundown on some things like proper address of officers and forming up and stuff, because it can add that little something extra to our RP.  Our base of operations is out in Westgard Keep, which was fun for me to get to as I was still pretty small.  I ran up the day before, to get the flight path, so all I’d need to do would be to catch the boat from Menethil and not have to risk dying to a rampaging shoveltusk.

Needless to say, I was pretty excited about THAT, too.  But yeah, we practiced forming up, managed to get our “Find the Captain and form up on him” time to 15 seconds (GO US), and got briefly bothered by some Horde RP-gankers who then got their asses handed to them repeatedly by the people who were actually high enough level to fight them.  (I was not one of them.  I mostly just died.  And also hid.)

ALL OF THESE WORDS (god I’m super wordy, aren’t I?) to say… I’m having fun.  I’m finding people to hang with and joke around with on teamspeak and RP with, and they’re being welcoming and wonderful, and I’m having FUN in the game again in a way I haven’t had in a long time – mostly because everyone I wanted to play with was doing their own thing that I wasn’t a part of.

Now I’m a part of something.  And that means a hell of a lot.

Leave a Reply

