General · Roleplay

Lost Flame [Nanowrimo Excerpt]

Just a note – this is technically part of my Nano, but won’t be happening until towards the end of the story, and the letter itself may or may not be in it. If you’re confused, read this and then this from Rades over at Orcish Army Knife. Lis is much less prolific than Gerk was, heh.


Gwenna,

I realise it’s been a long time since we’ve spoken. With how often I write letters to Sara, you’d think I’d remember to write to other people in my life as well. Unfortunately, I’m not writing out of missing you, but because the thought of leaving damned self-righteous naive MacKellar to deal with this (as if he’d even remember) makes me sick to my stomach.

Gerk is dead. Burr, too. I couldn’t

They sent me looking for them. Burr was already dead, and Gerk… I sat with him, Gwenna. I did everything I could, but even healers can’t fix everything. But I did stay with him, until the very end. And I killed as many of those Scourge bastards as I could. Wasn’t many. Wasn’t nearly enough.

I will always remember Gerk as the first person who really helped me come to terms with… well, being a Dwarf. Both of you were so good to me when I was struggling, and I’m glad that my commander sent me to Ironforge instead of home to Stormwind. With the help of both of you, I learned to feel like myself, and also like a Dwarf. The time I spent with him and Burr in Northrend was generally pretty good – they were so cheerful, even in the face of everything happening. They had hope – more than I had, most days. It was a wrench to get stationed away from them when I was sent to look for Brann up in the storm peaks.

You know I’m not much for stuff like this. Emotional, complicated… I’d much rather have something to hit, or someone to heal. This kind of healing is beyond my ken. I don’t have any words that’ll make this better for you, and I don’t know how much this must hurt for you. But I can swear one thing to you, Gwenna, with all my heart.

Arthas will pay for this. I will find a way to be there, when he’s finally confronted, and when we take him down, for me, it will be for Gerk, and Burr.

I’m sorry for your loss.

-Lisan Carpenter

One thought on “Lost Flame [Nanowrimo Excerpt]

  1. Great, great RP story Apple! Makes me sad picturing poor Gwenna sitting in the inn, waiting for Gerk to return, not knowing his awful fate. I took am confident MacKellar would never even think of telling her, so it’s great that Lisan would fill her in and break the bad news. Gerk will never be forgotten!

Comments are closed.