Uncategorized

Making new friends

So I’ve developed a bit of a banter with some of the bloggers I follow, both on twitter and on our respective blogs. Now, this is (I gather) pretty normal in the blogosphere (which my spell check says is actually a word, what kind of crazy shit is that), but it feels… kind of cool, to be honest. I wouldn’t say any of them are, y’know, friends with me… not yet. But it feels like maybe we could be, eventually.

Today was fun – today I hung out with Vidyala and Rades while Vid livestreamed drawing the picture for the winner of her Best Dressed Paladin contest. We chatted, and commented on Vid’s art, and helped her find the proper arrangement for ghoul parts, and I was dubbed an honorary Canadian. It was really fun, and something that I wish I had a chance to do more with my fellow bloggers.

So, uh, consider this a shout-out to all of you. You guys rock, and I always enjoy talking with you, even if it’s just a couple comments back and forth. I’m really honoured to be a part of such an awesome collection of people, writers, WoW players.

I’m going to go head to bed, now. Work in the morning. Have a good one, guys. :)

9 thoughts on “Making new friends

    1. Aw, yay! I’m glad you think so, too. ^_^ I definitely was sitting here going “Ice is definitely my friend, but I don’t know if I’m her friend or the slightly amusing chick who accosts her about macros while she’s doing heroics. D:”

      <3

  1. I’ve been really super excited about how friendly, welcoming, interesting, engaging, and fun the WoW blogging community has been. It’s a refreshing uplift from the mood on the official forum, sometimes!

    I feel really privileged and happy to have “met” so many cool people this way—even if we don’t all get to hang out in person, it’s a lot of fun to be part of the community. :)

    1. It really is. :) To all of that. These people are part of why I started blogging in the first place – and I knew I wasn’t really going to have much of anything new to add, except my own little rambles and opinions, but they’ve all (and you, since you came!) been so welcoming and friendly and just fun to be around.

  2. As someone who only reads blogs, what with my not having one myself, I have to remark that the interactions that I’ve had with bloggers, be they via e-mail, comments, or Twitter, have been wonderful experiences.

    Everyone has been kind and gracious, willing to answer questions, or take part in silly smalltalk. Maybe it’s just a quirk of my personality, but there are many with whom I believe I could be friends were we to ever meet in person. And, of course, this also means that there are many with whom I’d like to consider myself “Internet friends”. Whether they’re aware of this or not. >.>

    And now that I’ve taken the step of leaping out from the bushes of lurker-dom and introducing myself, perhaps one day I can think the same of you. :)

    1. I’m glad we’ve made a good impression! :) I have run into a few over the years who are… not so friendly, but as far as WoW blogs go, everyone I’d be interested in reading is amazing and wonderful.

      Leap out of the bushes more often, m’dear! I love hearing what people think, and I love hearing other people’s anecdotes, and (if I may be selfish and perfectly frank) I love getting the affirmation (through comments) that people are actually interested in my oft-inane ramblings. ;)

      1. Oh, I’m sure that I’ll be popping in here from time to time if you’ll have me, and pestering you on Twitter now that I’ve introduced myself and broken the ice. (I’m actually quite shy. I’d thought about saying “Hello” to you for about two weeks before I actually did. >.>)

        I’m a friendly guy, and I think that I’m quite easy to get along with. And I can be very conversational and very verbose when I get going. I’m sure that there’s a blogger or two who wishes I’d just shut up sometimes. ;)

  3. I meant to comment on this post when you wrote it but must have forgotten! Joining the WoW blogger community was one of the reasons I started WoW blogging, and with Twitter it’s becoming even closer and friendlier! Adding in chat time like Livestream and it becomes awesomely chummy. So I totally hear where you’re coming from, Honourable Canadian. ;)

    1. Do I still get to be an Honourary Canadian if I quit my job at Timmy’s? >_> Because… as much as I like the coffee and all, the job itself is kind of the suck, and I found a better one.

Comments are closed.