Skip to content

The New Adventures of Old Apple, Part 1

December 9, 2010

Or, more to the point, APPLE HAS A NEW LAPTOP! :D :D :D :D

She is a lovely Samsung QX with an Nvidia graphics card, and her name is Romana. Yes, I name my electronics, what of it? :P She’s currently downloading WoW and has about 6GB to go – I’m probably going to log on shortly with background downloading so I can adjust my settings – I’m starting entirely from scratch, so I have quite a bit to set up. :)

I should be back at some point later this evening with an update of what she’s running like. PLEASE be good, Romana, I’m counting on you!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 12:23 pm

    I name my computers too, haha! :D I’ve had laptops named Cobalt and Argent, desktops named Magnesium and Soth. Hooray for shiny new setups!!

    • December 9, 2010 3:01 pm

      I knoooow! I copied over my Dominoes and my Grid settings, just because they had been a pain to get just right, but everything else is fresh – and even not fully downloaded, I’m getting 30fps in Hyjal with the “Good” graphics setting. :D

      • December 10, 2010 7:59 am

        Congratulations! That sounds great, my laptop won’t even GO to Good, it’s limited to Fair :P

        • December 10, 2010 9:24 pm

          Mine goes TO 11!

          By which I mean ultra. >_> Slows her down to about 15fps, though, and having suffered with that as my “really good day” fps for so long, I think I’ll stick with Good.

  2. December 9, 2010 2:45 pm

    Congrats. ^.^ Are you still keeping your old laptop around (I forget its name) just for day to day use?

    • December 10, 2010 9:22 pm

      Donna is the old lappie, and yes, I’m keeping her for writing – I’m not a big fan of how Scrivener feels on Windows for some reason, at the least, and plus it would be so much WORK to transfer EVERYTHING over. I just need to get Romana some music and we’re set…

  3. December 9, 2010 2:58 pm

    You should totally keep the old computer around for a month or so, then try and play WoW on it after getting used to the OMG SHINY on the new one.

    • December 10, 2010 9:23 pm

      Oh man, I would DIE. XD

      • December 11, 2010 5:12 am

        Also, regarding settings – I found that putting everything on max would get me a framerate of about 20 or so in Dalaran on a normal day, but dropping the shadow quality down to about half way increased that to around 40.

  4. December 12, 2010 7:50 pm

    Grats on the new computer, Apple. I recently upgraded as well, and it makes a big difference. When I turned my view distance all the way up for the first time I was absolutely amazed at how much you could SEE. It seemed like a whole new world. Framerates were pretty spotty, tho, so I turned it down a notch and only crank it up to Ultra for taking screenshots.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

