Skip to content

Raiding, from a lore perspective

November 23, 2010

And by lore, I mean my personal character lore. See, about a month ago Alas celebrated her one-year blogiversary, and she handed out prompts to any blogger who asked. I liked mine:

What does it mean to your character when she steps into a raid? What goes through her mind as she faces the big baddies of Azeroth?

But the thing was… I didn’t really know. I was on the cusp of my first-ever ICC run, and everything else I’d done had been… outdated, or a little outdated and on my DK. I didn’t really now what Lis would think.

ICC isn’t… hugely big to her. Well, it is – she’s a paladin who was first inducted into the Silver Hand when they needed more paladins because of Arthas’ attack on Lordaeron. The Scourge killed many people she knew and cared about, and it was her first real battlefield experience, and those memories will always haunt her to some extent. But Icecrown is about doing her duty, doing what she must do to protect the people she loves, avenge the people she’s lost. Gerk, Burr, other nameless friends and comrades-in-arms. When Arthas is dead, she won’t feel satisfaction, she’ll just feel… relief, and weariness, and a bit of sadness – he wasn’t all that older than her, after all, and he’d started out with good intentions.

So, okay, that’s something, but it’s… very small, and didn’t seem to do the prompt justice, in my opinion, so I didn’t write it. And then this weekend, Lis and I stepped into Ulduar.

Ulduar was different. Ulduar was something that Lis volunteered for, in a much more definite way. Lis had a duty to be part of the attack on the Citadel, at least in her eyes. She had no such duty when it came to the reclamation of Ulduar. It was simply something that was important to her. It was a chance to… maybe find a way to really connect with being a Dwarf, since she was pretty much stuck that way. She spent a lot of time in Storm Peaks, searching for and helping Brann Bronzebeard, learning about the titans, becoming a… a helper to Thorim, if not a friend. Seeing Loken’s betrayal and destroying him for it. And finally, finally, stepping into the main part of Ulduar to help take it back from… whatever was there. She was part of a small strike team, and they… oh, they were heroes.

She won’t ever consider herself a hero for what she did elsewhere, but considering the scope of what she was a part of in Ulduar… she can’t really deny it should someone call her a hero for that, even if she’ll never really feel comfortable with it. Facing Yogg-Saron was the most terrifying thing she’d ever experienced, as throughout the battle she could feel her mind and her sanity starting to slip away from her. But that just made her all the more determined to not succumb. Engaging Algalon, fighting to save the world, that wasn’t frightening. It made her angry. Of course their actions were illogical, coming to fight one of the maker’s own agents and knowing they would quite possibly die horribly, but to lie down and simply accept their destruction would have been even more illogical – when you have life, the only logical thing to do when threatened is to fight to protect that life.

It wasn’t anything she could’ve put into words, at least at that moment, but that was the driving thought behind her anger. And then she and nine of her companions… saved the world.

And I know when she goes to face Deathwing, it’ll be personal – full of rage and hate and grief and the quest for vengeance. I can’t wait to see how she views the other raids of Cata.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. murrquan permalink
    November 23, 2010 3:27 pm

    Poignant and well-written!

  2. November 23, 2010 10:16 pm

    I’ve heard this in other words from you, but it’s interesting to read again, and makes me want to congratulate you again just because I can only imagine how much more it means to reach a goal when it’s one you desire both in- and out of character.

    Does Lis’ earlier story-bits happen to be somewhere on the intarwebs? Must admit I have not ventured back to the earlier reaches of your blog just yet, but my curiosity is piqued. I’ve never actually heard words on -how- the little mishap (improvement, I mean. Dwarves are clearly superior to humans.) actually happened, so figured I’d just ask!

    • November 23, 2010 10:49 pm

      Really, I haven’t written much of it! I wrote a little snippet of her being changed, though, if you’d like me to email it to you at some point. Since you haven’t watched Doctor Who, though, you won’t properly grasp the hilarity of it. XD

      Really, though, except for a brief scene from when Lis was still human, regarding her Paladin mount, I haven’t written much of anything for her – it’s all just in my head. Which I’m sure frustrates you DEEPLY. ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Kiss My Alas » Blog Archive » A plague on me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

