Skip to content

On being a new 80. Again.

October 21, 2010

I’ve turned 80 before. Just once, on Aislinn, and it was an exciting experience, I suppose. Suddenly, it wasn’t about XP, it was about emblems, and running the same dungeons over and over again for said emblems. I was a DPS DK, so as long as I could do some damage and not die, I generally didn’t have any problems. I didn’t learn until I’d already gotten myself decked out in T9 with an EJ spec and rotation (granted, only partially gemmed and entirely un-enchanted) that I was barely putting out 2k DPS, if that. Still, I could hold my own to an extent in Heroics, and I used the new emblems coming in to buy Heirlooms. Mostly the cloth ones.

On Lisan, however, in the wee hours of this morning, it was an entirely different matter. It was thrilling. It was joyous. I was just full of elation over this, and eagerly ran to the bank to take off the cloth heirlooms and a couple pieces of quest gear and put on the “nothing special” (in her words, not mine) level 80 gear that Oreo had gifted to me before I transferred off Ysera. “Just something to get you started”, and I appreciated the gesture immensely, remembering the hodgepodge of gear Ais had been in when she dinged.

So after work today, I log in and nervously eye the “queue for a random Lich King heroic dungeon” screen. No, I decide, after waffling on Vent and gchat for a few minutes. I queue for the Headless Horseman. Get a ring upgrade and the cool (but sadly only 14-day-duration) broom. (Side note: That broom is instant cast. You can cast it WHILE YOU’RE FALLING. It’s awesome.) I queue up for a regular dungeon with Ose’s fury warrior, who was (at the time, she’s since dinged) still 79. And then, mostly at the encouragement of Kurn, my oh-so-lovely GL, I queued up for my very first Heroic, thinking I’d get UK or something of a similar difficulty. Maybe a bit higher, since I was out of some of my quest gear.

Loading screen pops up.

Forge. Of. Souls.

I boggle for a moment, and then panic, and then flail. I heal as best I can. I whisper the tank and warn him that I’ve never even set FOOT in a Heroic before (which is true, as a healer, and I don’t think my crappy DPSing counts in this case), and he says it’s all good and he’ll keep an eye on me. I do okay at first, only lose one DPS on the first boss, and get a nice neck drop off him, [Love's Prisoner]. And then… the last boss. First round, we lasted about 20 seconds before I succumbed to the chaos and died, precipitating a wipe. Second time, we lasted about 30, maybe 45 seconds. It wasn’t enough. Another wipe, at which point the tank promptly dropped group, and the DPS followed suit, leaving me sad and alone (and dead) in the Forge of Souls, where I shouldn’t have been in the first place. This is, of course, when I turn on my fearless leader and jibe her a bit, to soothe my own wounded ego.

“‘You’ll do fine,’ she says. ‘Nothing to worry about,’ she says.” And, of course, because I wasn’t really mad, we all laughed and moved on to exploring the various different kinds of phone sex voices Kurn and O could use to read the flavour text of the [Apexis Crystal]. Yeah, it was a very special conversation. So I swear off Heroics for the evening, level my herbalism a little (and annoy every lowbie in Elwynn Forest with the constant spamming of “/y Speedyram, HO!” every time I mounted. Mmmm, macrolicious), help a very sweet and polite lowbie with a couple quests in Redridge, and do an encounter with my web-based DnD group. And then I’m sitting out in Storm Peaks, playing with my broom, and Kurn asks… well, something about my gear. She goes to take a look at my gear, and promptly tells me that a) I need a new Libram – which was true, I’d been using one I got at, like, lv 64 – and b) I need better gems in my belt because my belt deserves better than the dinky +12 int gems I had in it.

“Oh, really?” I ask, cluelessly. “Is it nice?”

Yeah. Apparently it is.

Kurn has never seen this drop. “Ah. This would be the reason for Forge of Souls,” I say. “Yeah, pretty much,” she replies. After which we got me my new libram and some nice +20 int gems, dragged Shadow into a group to tank, and ran a couple of random Heroics, which were the undead spider dungeons (I can’t remember the names) and much more along my current skill/gear level, and we only wiped once thanks to a fail!DK. :) So on the whole, a nice evening. Tomorrow, I clean and spend time OUT OF THE HOUSE OMG with the wifething. And I sleep tonight, sound in the knowledge that I’m… actually not too bad at what I do. Seriously, I always get nervous running with Kurn, because she has been a holy paladin longer than I’ve been PLAYING, but she’s always got either helpful (and not at all mean) critiques if I’m not doing something I should be (or doing something I shouldn’t be), or a lot of nice words. Seriously. Considering I still nurse a slight case of hero worship – because hey, who says you can’t hero worship your friends? – this means a lot to me. I love spending time with her – as part of a group or just one-on-one. Good times. We’ve both been saying it a lot lately, but I think I’m really gonna fit in nicely in Apotheosis, and that makes me happy.

And before I go… HOLY CRAP, OREO. SERIOUSLY? MY FREAKING GUILD LEADER WANTS MY BELT. I HAD NO IDEA. YOU ARE LIKE, THE GODDESS OF GODDESSES. SERIOUSLY. WHY ARE YOU SO GOOD TO ME? You are slightly to blame for my somewhat traumatic first Heroic incident, but that all PALES IN COMPARISON to the fact that you gave me a pretty rare ICC25 BoE drop as a “starter” that was “nothing special”.

I do not deserve you, sweet cheeks. ♥

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 2:03 am

    That is seriously a kickin’ belt. You’ll probably not need another one until … well Cataclysm.

    Your friend Oreo is clearly wonderful.

    Also, if you’re in the longer of the two “spidery” instances (Old Kingdom), I consider that the hardest of the pre-ICC heroics to heal, so you’re coming along pretty well if you’re not having problems in there.

    Heroic FOS is a bit unmanageable at first, but don’t skip out on the regular versions of FOS, POS, and HOR! The drops in there are sweet for starting out!

    • October 21, 2010 9:02 am

      Oreo is amazing. I texted her about it last night and woke up to a response of “psh, you needed a good belt to start you off. Anyway it was only 2k” and I’m just like “!!!! ♥”

      And tbh, I can’t claim that the smooth run of Old Kingdom is hardly at all due to my healing – Shadow is a freaking AMAZING tank, he’s one of the old Apo tanks, I believe, and he loves warriors, so he really knows what he’s doing and is really well geared and so on. Though he DID keep eating Anub’s Pound in AN (she says, since he’s not here to defend himself). ;)

  2. October 21, 2010 2:03 am

    So in my defense, how was I supposed to know you had the Belt of the Lonely Noble!? hahaha!

    Also, I maintain my voice is better. ;) I’m just having an off-night!

    And finally, it’s always fun to run with you. I’m looking forward to getting to 85 and healing alongside you in a real raid setting. :) You take constructive criticism well and you listen and hey. You cleansed my pet. <3

    • October 21, 2010 8:51 am

      It is a good defence. It was still traumatising. :P

      I’m sure that you could be at LEAST as good as O with the phone sex voice if you weren’t cracking up. ;)

      Hee. <3 I'm so psyched about healing with you. It'll be a BLAST! Also, I maintain that pets are people too, and while keeping their owners alive is higher on my priority list, they still deserve heals if I've got the mana.

  3. Belph permalink
    October 21, 2010 5:24 am

    That’s a very endearing story. :)

    Now on the side of cold, rational pragmatism: don’t spend your money/gems/ enchants / emblems/points on anything anymore. Cataclysm is only one and a half month away and you’ll very quickly replace your gear. That awesome belt you linked will get replaced within 30 minutes of questing in the new Cata zones. The quest rewards start at ilvl 272.

    • October 21, 2010 8:47 am

      Well, the thing is that I still have things I want to do, like run Uldar (STARCALLER LISAN!), and other things that really require being better geared than I am/will be from heroics. I’m okay with that. I want to HAVE some of this gear, just to look pretty. Yes, I’m a bit of a vain peacock. ^^;; Pragmatism appreciated but gleefully ignored, in this case. ♥

  4. October 21, 2010 10:01 am

    You heal pets. I <3 you, Apple. :) So many times I've had to watch helplessly as my little buddies died because my Mend Pet couldn't keep up. If I see a healer consistently healing my pet, I always make a point to personally thank them.

    I love my Guild. There are things about them that make me scratch my head or get me a bit irritated sometimes, but don't get me wrong. They are, for the most part, great people. But I hear the stories that you and Kurn tell, and a little part of me wishes that I could be there too.

    Sounds like you've found a great group of people to play with. Don't take it for granted. :)

    • October 21, 2010 10:16 am

      Pets are People Too! Seriously, having a hunter who rarely gets played but is very dear to my heart, I know the dismay when something happens and mend pet just isn’t going to cut it. Sure you can just rez them, but that’s your PARTNER you’re watching go down. That and I think that it’s just common courtesy. (if we have a dumb hunter, sometimes, I’ll heal his pet before him. ^^;;)

      Man, hanging with Apotheosis (having gone back and read Kurn’s old entries and anecdotes) has been like, the ultimate in “awesome guild experiences” to me for a long time now. Since before I was levelling Lis. This is really a dream come true for me.

      Like the Estimable Brann Bronzebeard says, “Take a moment and relish this with me.” And oh, do I. I couldn’t ask for a more awesome group of people, imnsho. I enjoy every minute, all of the old crew has been open and friendly and welcoming to us newbies, and it’s just… I already have friends, friends that I DO NOT want to lose even if one of us stops playing WoW.

      I love it here. Even if somehow the whole “raiding” aspect doesn’t pan out (Light forbid) I will stick around because DAMN, I’m never going to find a crew I fit better with. I truly believe that.

      • October 21, 2010 10:27 am

        It isn’t just healing, either. If they take the time to cleanse a poison or cure a disease on my pet, I want to reach through the Internet and hug them.

        I’ve only ever played on the one server, but if I were to ever try rolling on alt on another, I’d definitely consider (and then probably chicken out) doing it on yours, if just for the possibility that I might see you and send a /wave your way. :)

        • October 21, 2010 4:09 pm

          Oh, if you rolled an alt on ET and didn’t tell me, I’d be heartbroken! I’d want to hug you and keep you and call you George, or at the very least pull you into Apo as a friend.

        • October 21, 2010 8:53 pm

          Oh, the temptation is strong, believe me. I just don’t want to end up being the annoying guy who shows up and ruins the party for everyone, especially since you (and to a much lesser extent, Kurn) are the only person(s) I know from that neck of the woods. >.>

  5. October 21, 2010 9:50 pm

    Get back to shelving books, Kurn! Leave the sexy voices to the pros! :)

Trackbacks

  1. That was a great adventure. : Kurn's Corner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

