Skip to content

The Warm Fuzzies

August 24, 2010

So Jaedia over at The Lazy Sniper had her 1-year blogiversary recently, and in celebration, was giving blogging prompts to those that asked. Which led to Vidyala over at The Pugging Pally making an awesome post about moments that gave her the warm fuzzies. And Vid, in turn asked for our own stories, in comments or our own posts.

And, well, how can I turn down a perfect opportunity to make a post when I so rarely remember to finish them? :D

For the Horde!

Once upon a time, believe it or not, I was a prot warrior. My first toon was a ret paladin named Kaadri who I never really got into. It didn’t help that I was new to the game and sick of running and couldn’t get my mount until level 30 at the time. She got to level 24, I believe, before I stopped playing for a while, let my account lapse, and abandoned her for good. When I came back, I rolled a Draenei warrior, Katyachka. That’s her at about level 30, I think.

Anyway, when Katy was levelling in Arathi, I was having some trouble with… one of the quests. I can’t remember which one. And as I was eating after a ghost run for what seemed like the hundredth time, a troll and a blood elf ran up.

Now, I have never played on PvP servers, so I wasn’t really worried about them killing me. What I was worried was that they’d kill all the mobs I needed, and that would be a pain. Instead, however, what happened was that the troll stopped, saw me eating and the couple of dead mobs (and skeleton) nearby (I assume, anyway) and… waved. And then ran in a little ways, and beckoned me to follow. I wasn’t really sure what to make of it, but I was going in anyway, so I trotted along after him. He pointed at a mob and shrugged. It took me a moment to figure out he was trying to ask if I needed to kill that, so I nodded and then pulled it. The troll then proceeded to help me finish my quest, and then I helped him finish his.

After that, I was going to just thank him and take my leave, but he kept beckoning me, so we actually ended up questing together for more than an hour, helping each other not die as best we could, waiting when one of us had to make a ghost run, and basically… having fun. It made me so sad that I couldn’t talk to him, or have any idea who he was.

Goldseller

And then there was the guy who randomly came up to my level 7 shaman as she was questing in Durotar. She was on an RP server I’d never played on before, so I had no friends and no higher-level character to send me bags and gold.

“Hey,” he said. “You new on this server?”

“Yeah, actually,” I said. “How come?”

He opened a trade window and put 100g in it. Now, I’d been playing for a while, so it wasn’t like I’d never seen 100g in my life. I had more than 20 times that in Ais’ bags. But it was so random and unexpected that I didn’t know what to do.

“Uh,” I said, so very coherently. “What’s this for?”

“I got hacked by gold sellers,” he told me. “When I got my account back, there was still thousands of gold in my inbox. I didn’t really feel like it was MINE, but I figure the thing the gold sellers would hate most would be me giving it away, so I am!”

We had a good laugh about that, I accepted the trade, and he went on his way. If I saw him again, I wouldn’t know it, as I don’t remember his name, but that was one of the coolest things that ever happened to me in the game.

All Elves Together

The most recent, though, happened on the babyDruid I rolled on Moonguard in order to stalk chat with Icedragon. She was running around in Darkshore doing quests, like you do. Killing crabs on the beach, more specifically. When up runs this Blood Elf. Level 80, going by his gear. He runs up on his mount and dismounts next to me. I wave, because that’s what I do when I see members of the opposite faction in a place they’re not usually found. He waves back, and bows. I salute him, and then grab another crab.

He waits until I have aggro, then one-shots it. I’m a bit taken aback, but hey, more help is good! I thank him and smile, and go to loot my crab. I figure he was just a little bored and will run off now, but no, he follows me all up and down the beach while I kill crabs, until I’ve gotten all the drops I need. At which point we /flirt a little, wave goodbye, and go our separate ways.

It was a tiny thing, and not really needed – I could’ve done the quest without any problems on my own. But it was really neat that he’d do that, and really made me happy. I like it when people from different factions help each other out like that. It makes me feel… warm and fuzzy. ^_^

With a little help from my friends

That’s not even getting into all the times my friends and guildies have helped me. Oreo will drop practically anything if I so much as display interest in doing something she can help me with, which makes me a happycow. (We’ve decided I’m really a Tauren at heart. Probably a druid. This amuses me for some reason.) Hano was the one who first got me into the game, and has always gone out of his way to help me out and give me advice. Luther and Spooky have both been good company, good levelling buddies, and Luther’s cut down my heroic queue time significantly from time to time by going healer. The number of people who have helped me just because they could, and because I needed it… it staggers me. And it makes me happy.

Pay it forward

One day, I know I’m going to come across a newbie player. Someone who’s been struggling along to level, or someone I’ve convinced to join. And I’m going to get the chance to pass along all this goodwill and wisdom and help that I’ve gotten over the past couple of years. I’ll have the chance to give them advice, run them through dungeons when they’re too tired to deal with LFD or want a little free gold and XP. I’ll get to give them gifts as they level (bags, gold, gems, enchants…), and I’ll hopefully be instilling a desire for them to do the same, when they’re in a position to do so.

I think that’s the most important part about those “warm fuzzy” moments. Those moments when people give you good advice, or help, or just a bit of their own windfall. You have to keep the goodwill going. It’s like the spice – it must flow. ;) Pass it along. Make someone else smile, give a newbie something to look forward to, remind those pesky Alliance that Horde doesn’t equal Evil And Bad. Give someone else a “warm fuzzy” moment.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 10:52 am

    D’awww. See, this all gives me warm fuzzies. Sometimes things in the game are frustrating, and I know I seldom hesitate to write a ranty post, but it’s so much nicer to reflect on the good things that have happened. Thanks for this! :D

    • August 24, 2010 11:12 am

      Aw! You’re welcome. ^_^ I love remembering the happy things that have happened, and the amazing things. One of my first posts was about remembering my “first times”, and it was an amazingly fun walk down memory lane that left me feeling all happy with the world for the rest of the day.

      Ranty posts are a necessity, I think, for us blogging types to let off steam from time to time, but there should be more celebration of the awesome. *nod*

  2. August 25, 2010 3:13 am

    I get fuzzy moments all the time when I play with my best WoW friend. We met in an old guild, hit it off right away, and now we’re leading our own… well, mostly she leads, I give opinions and whine :D But I always know that if I need help she has an alt to log in, tons of mats and advice on all the classes. I feel kinda useless at times, but she said it helps to have someone to rant at/with. I try to be the “support network”, since she’s the one who gets the stress that comes with RLing.

    Old fuzzy moment: when a guildie took my first lvl 70 char, my warrior, by the virtual hand and got her gemmed and enchanted, and inspected me, pointing out details, until I figured it out for myself. I am still very grateful to him… without his help, I might have quit the game. After the high of finally hitting level 70, I had a very deep low where I had no idea what to do next (I wanted to raid with my bf, but I was a BIG noob and he didn’t know much about melee DPS).

    And a fun cross-faction story: I was leveling my lil’ paladin in Azuremyst Isle… and here comes a high level Horde moonkin killing the guards and quest givers. He was friendly though, emoting to us and stuff. All the lowbies started crying about the NPCs, so I made a horde alt and whispered the moonkin. Turns out he was bored to death, but he agreed to only kill the guards from then on. I also asked him if I can attack him without him ganking me… he said yes. So I logged back to my paladin, hit him… and my HP dropped to 20% because he has Thorns on. Ooops. He laughed at me and patted me :P I love cross-faction love, I never understood why we’re supposed to hate each other… we’re the same people no matter the faction.

    • August 25, 2010 6:09 am

      Awesome stories. :) I definitely know the feeling of not really doing anything but moral support, though not in a WoW setting. It can be frustrating, but as long as the other leader-types aren’t bothered by it, you’re good. Just do your best. ^_^

  3. August 25, 2010 3:37 am

    Warm fuzzies transmitted and received :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

